IAFC opens nominations for 2024 Ben Franklin and Fire Chief of the Year awards

March 11, 2024

Nominations open for the 2024 Ben Franklin Award for Valor

The International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC) is now accepting nominations for the 2024 IAFC Ben Franklin Award for Valor.

Named after Benjamin Franklin, one of the first fire chiefs in the United States, the award honors the tradition of service, courage, and heroism in the fire and emergency service.

The award, sponsored by Motorola Solutions, recognizes firefighters for their dedication and life-saving actions.

Frank Galvin, president of Central Region Sales at Motorola Solutions, expressed their pride in supporting the award: “The actions, heroism and dedication captured in these stories protecting those they serve is unprecedented. We consider it a privilege to be part of this award.”

All active firefighters, whether career or volunteer, are eligible for the award, which will be presented at Fire-Rescue International (FRI) in Dallas, Texas.

Nominations, which are open until May 17, 2024, at 11:59 PM ET, must be submitted by the nominee’s fire chief.

The nominees must have demonstrated exceptional service and dedication in an incident where they saved a human life.

Fire Chief of the Year Award recognizing leadership and innovation

The IAFC is also accepting nominations for the Fire Chief of the Year Award through May 17, 2024.

This award, established in 1996, acknowledges the exceptional contributions of both a volunteer and a career fire chief in the areas of leadership, innovation, professional development, integrity, and public service.

The award is presented in partnership with Pierce Manufacturing.

The award criteria focus on the nominee’s accomplishments in the fire service, with special emphasis on the period from 2021 through 2023.

Command role at major emergency incidents, while relevant, is not the sole factor for contention.

Nominees can be proposed through the online nomination form by any member of the IAFC, state associations of fire chiefs, and other designated fire service organizations.

Announcement and recognition at Fire-Rescue International

The winners of both the Ben Franklin Award for Valor and the Fire Chief of the Year Award will be announced on Monday, August 12, 2024.

They will be honored at the Fire-Rescue International event in Dallas, Texas, with the Ben Franklin Award ceremony taking place on August 15, 2024, and the Fire Chief of the Year ceremony on August 14, 2024.

These events offer an opportunity to celebrate the achievements and commitment of individuals in the fire and emergency service field.

FSJA Comment

The nomination process for the 2024 IAFC Ben Franklin Award for Valor and the Fire Chief of the Year Award represents a significant moment in acknowledging the dedication and service of firefighters.

These awards honor individual heroism and leadership, highlighting the critical role firefighters play in our communities.

Their contributions often go beyond the call of duty, reflecting a deep commitment to public safety and welfare.

The awards, therefore, serve as a platform to recognize these exemplary individuals, while also elevating the profile of the fire and emergency service industry as a whole.

Read Next

Subscribe Now