Chief J. Robert Brown, Jr. recognized with 2024 James O. Page EMS Achievement Award

April 30, 2024

The International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC) EMS Section has named Chief J. Robert Brown, Jr. (Ret.) as the recipient of the 2024 James O. Page EMS Achievement Award.

The ceremony, sponsored by ZOLL Medical Corporation, will take place at the upcoming Fire-Rescue Med conference in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Chief Brown, a retired fire chief with a distinguished 40-year career in fire and rescue services, has made significant contributions across various leadership roles, both in the United States and internationally.

His tenure includes serving as the President of the IAFC Missouri Valley Division and holding executive roles within the Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Section of the IAFC.

Career and contributions of Chief Brown

Starting his career as a firefighter paramedic after graduating with a degree in public administration from the University of Missouri, Chief Brown advanced through the ranks, eventually serving as fire chief for 20 years.

His leadership extended across metropolitan and volunteer departments, influencing fire service practices across the nation.

His approach to leadership has been notably personable and inclusive, focusing on building partnerships and fostering open communication.

As the CEO and Executive Director of the IAFC, he has been pivotal in guiding the organization through strategic initiatives that aim to enhance its service to the global fire and EMS community.

IAFC’s acknowledgment and the significance of the award

“Chief Brown’s leadership and abilities to work with the Board has been integral to the IAFC evolution as a member-led organization,” stated Fire Chief John Butler, President and Chair of the Board, Fairfax County (VA) Fire Rescue Department.

“His tireless work ethic for the greater good of the Fire/EMS community, both as a veteran first responder, Fire Chief, and an outspoken citizen advocate, has been an inspiration to all of us.

“It is fitting that he is being recognized for his enthusiasm and dedication toward fire-based EMS, along with his professionalism, vision and drive for excellence.”

The James O. Page Award, established in 1995, annually honors a fire service EMS leader who demonstrates outstanding professionalism and commitment.

This award, named after its first recipient James O. Page, highlights the enduring impact of exceptional leadership within the fire and EMS sectors.

Read Next

Subscribe Now